How To Erase Your Tracks

Internet Safety

To be safe, erase any record that you have visited the Women & Children’s Shelter web site. If anyone has access to your computer, they will be able to see which web sites you have visited unless you erase your tracks.

PC Windows – Internet Explorer

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Select the Tools in the menu bar. Open the Internet Options Dialog Box and select the General Tab.

Step 2: In the Temporary Internet Files, click Delete Files. Check the “Delete all offline content” and click OK.

Step 3: In the History, click Clear History.

Step 4: In Temporary Internet Files, click Delete Cookies and then OK.

Step 5: Click OK to exit the Internet Options Dialog Box.

PC Windows – Mozilla Firefox

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Select the Tools in the menu bar, then select the Options.

Step 2: Click on the “Privacy” Option, with the picture of a padlock.

Step 3: Select the “History” tab. Click on “Clear Browsing History Now”.

Step 4: Select the “Cache” tab. Click on “Clear Cache Now”.

Step 5: Click “OK” to exit the Options dialogue box.

PC Windows – Netscape

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Select the Edit in the menu bar, then select the Preference.

Step 2: Under the Category, select Navigator. Then click Clear History as well as Clear Location Bar.

Step 3: Under Privacy & Security, select Cookies. Then click View Stored Cookies. Lastly, click Remove All Cookies.

Step 4: Under the Category, select Cache under Advanced. First click the Clear Memory Cache followed by the Clear Disk Cache.

PC Windows

(right click the mouse on the Start at the bottom of the menu bar, select Explore)

Step 1: Select Windows in the C drive.

Step 2: Open the Temporary Internet Files Folders. Select all the files inside this folder and delete.

Step 3: Open the History folder (e.g. c:\windows\history\today in Win 98), select all the files inside this folder and delete.

Step 4: Open the Cookies folder (e.g. c:\windows\cookies in Win 98), select all the files inside this folder and delete.

Step 5: Disable the Auto-Complete in the windows and/or browser options.

Step 6: Finally, after completed the above deletions, you should also empty the recycle bin.

Mac – Safari

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Go to “history” tab on the main menu.

Step 2: Scroll down to “clear history”.

Mac – Firefox

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Go to “preferences” under the “Firefox” tab in main menu.

Step 2: Click on “Privacy” tab then go to the “Private Data” section on the bottom.

Step 3: Click “Clear Now”.

Mac – Netscape

(Before closing the Browser)

Step 1: Go to “Edit” menu and select “Preferences”.

Step 2: Select “Navigator” under the “Category” listing.

Step 3: Select “Clear History” in the “History” area.

Step 4: Click “OK” to erase history.

Remember:

When you clear the cache and the history list, you erase ALL information that had been previously stored there. If your partner notices that the cache and history list have been deleted, he or she will realize that you know how to delete your tracks as well as possibly thinking that you have something to hide.

A way to avoid suspicion is after clearing the CACHE and HISTORY LIST spend some time visiting sites that you think your partner wouldn’t object to. This way, the cache and history list start to get filled up and your partner might be less likely to notice that old information is missing.

Email

If an abuser has access to your email account, he or she may be able to read your incoming and outgoing mail. If you believe your account is secure, make sure you choose a password that’s difficult to guess. If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages, print and save the messages as evidence of this abuse and report it to police.

A woman’s partner can often tell when she makes up her mind to stop the abuse. Do not underestimate your partner. Always erase your tracks.

Telephone Safety

When you call the Women & Children’s Shelter, or any organization that assists abused women, you must be careful to use a telephone that will not keep a record of the number you called. If you call long distance, the phone number will appear on the bill. Even if you call locally, if you use an Internet-based telephone system, with a name like VOIP or SKYPE, records of the call will be kept. If your partner has access to the system he or she will be able to identify who you have called.

Cell phones can also keep records of the numbers that have been called.

A local call made on a regular telephone line will not produce a record of the call. However, many telephones have a “redial” button, and you may want to call a friend or other “safe” number after you make any call you don’t want your partner to know about – they can check up on you just by pressing “redial”.

One way to be sure your home telephone uses a regular telephone line is to check your telephone bill. It will come from a Telephone Company, such as Telus, Bell or Sprint. It will not list any local numbers, only long distance. If you still aren’t sure, you should use extra caution.

The safest way to call or to receive calls from us is from a friend’s phone, a public phone, a work phone, or any telephone that has nothing to do with your partner.

If you are in danger, call 911.